Board Members

The Coalition is guided by a dedicated group of volunteer board members.

Basil Barna has lived in Idaho Falls, Idaho since 1977 when he moved from Columbus, Ohio to work at the Idaho National Laboratory. He and his wife and three teenage children make the most of the Idaho, Wyoming, Montana outdoors by kayaking, skiing, and backpacking as much as they can. Because of this exposure to the riches of the region, Basil is dedicated to promoting the concept of regional citizenship and its importance to building a sustainable future for the Greater Yellowstone.He is a physicist whose 40 plus years of work in energy and transportation research has spanned such diverse topics as the Space Shuttle, nuclear reactors, light rail transit, hydrogen powered vehicles, and energy efficient urban development in China. In 2001 he founded Wilderness Systems and Technologies to focus on the interface between technology and the natural environment. During his 25 year career with the Department of Energy’s National Laboratory system, he has served as the Vice Chairman of the Next Generation Vehicle Coordinating Committee, Chairman of the Joint Army, Navy, NASA, Air Force (JANNAF) Space Systems NDE Panel, the Idaho Governor’s Task Force on Intermodal Transportation, and leader of the Idaho National Laboratory’s Transportation Industry Group. Currently he is Board President of the Yellowstone-Teton Clean Energy Coalition and the Teton Area Advisory Forum. He also serves as a consultant on sustainable practices in the construction industry. The major emphasis of his work is the development of energy efficient, sustainable systems that fit the social realities of today’s complex world. President, Wilderness Systems and Technologies
Dave Bergart Secretary/TreasurerTeton Youth and Family Services Adams Canyon Crisis Shelter Program Manager
Jim Evanoff Retired National Parks Employee
JuliAnne H Forrest has lived in Jackson, WY off and on throughout her life and permanently moved back in 2010 after spending 14 years in Washington, DC.  JuliAnne is the Director of Marketing for MetWest Terra Hospitality.  She has worked in the advertising, public relations and government relations areas for over 25 years.  Some of her clients have included USEC, Nissan North America, UPS, MCI, the National 4-H Council, the American Road and Transportation Builders Association and the USO. JuliAnne’s love of Jackson Hole and exploring the outdoors began at a young age when her family vacationed regularly in the Pinedale area.  In her free time, she enjoys the outdoors fly fishing, kayaking, hiking and skiing.  A native Iowan, JuliAnne received her B.A. in Mass Communications and Journalism from Iowa State University. Director of Marketing, MetWest Terra Hospitality
Dylan Hoffman recently transplanted himself from the mountains of Colorado to engage in his new role as the Director of Environmental Affairs for Xanterra Parks & Resorts at Yellowstone.  In this position, Dylan has the privilege of leading the charge to develop, implement, and maintain comprehensive environmental strategies and programs in the park’s lodging, retail, restaurant, transportation, and hospitality operations. Built on the back of Ecologix, its ISO 14001-certified Environmental Management System, Xanterra prides itself on being a leader in the industry by providing legendary hospitality with a softer footprint. Dylan is thrilled to have the opportunity to live and work in the world’s first national park and get to know his new 2.2 million acre backyard. When he is able to eke out some free time, Dylan can usually be found, fly rod in hand, scouring Yellowstone’s famous water for monster browns (but usually settles for an 8 inch brookie), brewing beer, or spending time with his special lady and their two badly-behaved dogs. Director of Environmental Affairs, Xanterra Parks & Resorts
Natalie Meyer City of Bozeman, Sustainability Program Manager
 April Norton
Tad Pearson is the Manager of Transportation and Fleet Management Support Services at the Idaho National Laboratory (INL).  He is a graduate of Idaho State University with a Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education.  After 6 years of teaching school and coaching, Tad has spent the past 20 years working at the INL. He is responsible for all the support systems and personnel responsible for keeping INL fleet vehicles and equipment available for service.  Tad was tasked with implementation of Executive Order 13514 for the INL fleet.  These efforts have resulted in the INL receiving several sustainability awards including the 2010 Green Gov Presidential Award for Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance Lean, Clean, and Green, a 2010 Estar Award from the Department of Energy, and the number 19 Government Green Fleet in North America. Tad was awarded the 2011 Department of Energy Management Award for recognition of outstanding energy, water, and fleet management in DOE Facilities. Tad has been instrumental in the increasing use of biodiesel and E85 in Southeast Idaho, working with a local vendor to supply both products commercially.  The INL fleet of 100 buses uses B20 all year round. Tad is a native Idahoan and he and his wife Allyson love spending their time following their boys athletic activities. Manager, Transportation and Fleet Management Support Services, Idaho National Laboratory
Brian Spangler is the Manager of the Energy Planning and Renewable Energy Program in the Energy and Pollution Prevention Bureau at the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). He is a graduate of the University of Idaho with a Bachelor of Science in Business Management and was an U.S. Army Officer (ROTC) distinguished Military Graduate.  Brian has over twenty-five years of experience in sales, marketing, operations and management with the US Army as an officer and an employee of a Fortune 50 company before being employed at the DEQ. He has received numerous awards from the Army and Corporate America. In September 2004, he received the “Top Performer” award at the DEQ and the Governor’s “Performance Excellence” award for his efforts in business development. Manager, Energy Planning and Renewable Energy, Montana Department of Environmental Quality
Linda Milam Board Emeritus
Sandy Shuptrine Governance Committee